Buddha Teaching: Right Mindfulness.
This means being aware of our thoughts, words, and deeds.

The Four Foundations of Mindfulness
The Buddha's teaching on The Four Foundations of Mindfulness, which is outlined in Sutta Satipatthana, is of great significance. According to the text, it is 'the direct path to the attainment of purity, for the overcoming of sorrow and lamentation, for the end of pain and grief...for the realization of nibbana'. Mindfulness is also the seventh factor of the Noble Eightfold Path. The word 'mindfulness' can be explained as a combination of 'bare attention' and 'clear comprehension'. The purpose pf practicing mindfulness it is to see things as they really are, unswayed by aversion or attraction.
The four categories from within which mindfulness can be approached are:

1. contemplation of the body

2. contemplation of feelings

3. contemplation of the mind

4. contemplation of mental objects...


No comments: